Need a Collier County Traffic Ticket Attorney?
If you have received a traffic citation or traffic ticket in Collier County, Florida, you have several options! For a FREE consultation with a Collier County Traffic Ticket Attorney about your ticket, please call (239) 775-1004.
Do I need a Collier County Traffic Ticket Attorney?
If you receive a traffic ticket, depending on the type of ticket, you have several options:
A) You can pay the civil penalty (fine) for the citation and have points assessed to your driving record, if applicable;
B) You can elect traffic school if you qualify, to prevent points from being assessed to your record; or
C) You can request a hearing to contest the citation.
The consequences for choosing one option over another vary significantly and may be severe depending upon the person’s driving record and the type of citation issued. For example, by simply paying the fine for a citation that carries points, the points will automatically be assessed to the driving record which may then result in at least a thirty (30) day suspension depending on the number of points already on the driving record.
For a more harsh example, if a person were to have any combination of two (2) qualifying offenses for HTO designation such as a DUI charge or a Driving on a Suspended License on their record within the previous five (5) years, and they elect option one (1) by paying their civil citation for Unknowingly Driving with a Suspended License, it may result in Habitual Traffic Offender (HTO) designation with a five year driver license revocation.
Multiple driving offenses can quickly lead to the loss of your ability to drive legally, as well as creating higher costs of insurance, fines and other consequences. A Collier County Traffic Ticket Attorney may help you make an informed decision on how to proceed and may ultimately be able to handle your case without you having to set foot in a court room. For a FREE consultation with a Collier County Traffic Ticket Attorney about your ticket, please call (239) 775-1004.
How many points can I get before my license is suspended?
Point suspensions in Florida are assessed as follows:
- 12 points earned within 12 months results in a 30-day suspension.
- 18 points earned within 18 months results in a 3-month suspension.
- 24 points earned within 36 months results in a 12-month suspension.
How many points are assessed for each violation?
The following table provided by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles provides a breakdown of some of the most common driving violations with corresponding points:
Driving Violations and Points
|No greater than 15 mph over the speed limit||3 points|
|More than 15 mph over the speed limit||4 points|
|Speeding resulting in an crash||6 points|
|Moving violation (includes driving during restricted hours and parking on a highway outside the limits of a municipality)||3 points|
|Moving violation resulting in a crash||4 points|
|Failing to stop at a traffic signal (effective October 1, 2005)||4 points|
|Passing a stopped school bus||4 points|
|Reckless driving||4 points|
|Leaving the scene of a crash resulting in property damage of more than $50||6 points|
|Improper lane change||3 points|
|Violation of a traffic control sign/device||4 points|
|Open container as an operator||3 points|
|Child restraint violation||3 points|
What are the consequences of being designated a Habitual Traffic Offender (HTO) ?
Habitual Traffic Offender designation results in a five (5) year driver license revocation by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. Further, HTO designation required a full year “hard” suspension meaning that the person may not apply for a hardship license until one full year has elapsed.
Can I elect to attend a basic driver improvement course to prevent points from being assessed?
For certain types of citations, a driver may elect to attend a basic driver improvement course to prevent points from being assessed to his or her driving record. Florida Statute 318.14(9) addresses whether a person is eligible for this option. To qualify, the person must not possess a valid Class A, B, or C commercial drivers license and must not have elected this option within the last twelve (12) months. Further, this election may only be made five (5) times over a person’s lifetime.
Contact a Collier County Traffic Ticket Attorney
If you have been issued a traffic citation or traffic ticket in Collier County, Florida and would like to Contact an Attorney, please call 239-775-1004. Consultations are absolutely FREE and completely confidential.
The Law Offices of Verderamo Escobar are committed to providing legal representation primarily in the fields of criminal law and personal injury law. While our office is situated in Naples, Florida, we proudly represent clients throughout Collier and Lee Counties and their surrounding areas, including, but not limited to, Naples, Fort Myers, Bonita Springs, Estero, Cape Coral, Golden Gate, Immokalee, Lehigh, and Marco Island. The Law Office of Verderamo & Escobar is located at 2662 Airport Pulling Rd S Naples, FL 34112. For more information, call (239) 775-1004.